Skip to main content

 

Eptura Knowledge Center

Global settings for personal spaces

Global settings apply throughout your organization. 

Global settings for personal spaces

To view or change the global settings for your personal space across all your locations:

  1. Sign in to the Eptura Engage web app and go to Advanced setup > Global setup.
  2. Select the Personal spaces tab.
    app setup global ps 01.png
    Global setup - Personal spaces
  3. Configure the options as required:
    Options for personal spaces
    Description
    Good to know
    Enable ‘Personal spaces’ for users When enabled, the Personal Spaces module is visible in the Eptura Engage web and mobile apps. The module is available only to users with the appropriate permissions to book personal spaces.

    Booking Period

    Whole Day: Sets the daily booking slots for 'all-day' personal space resources to a whole day.

    Half Day: Enables separate AM and PM booking slots for 'all-day' personal space resources.

    To enable the cleaning vendor workflow, the booking period must be set to Whole Day.

    Allow personal spaces to be booked for others

    All users: Allow all users to book personal spaces for other users.

    Admins only: Users can only book personal spaces for themselves. Only Admins can book personal spaces for others.

    Admins only – Even in locations where self-certification is enabled: Enables Admins to book for others on the current day.

    • Booking for others on the current day is normally restricted when self-certification is required, as the user must self-certify at the time of booking the personal space.
    • When booking for others is enabled for all users, only the person that the space is being booked for needs relevant access to the space - the person booking the space does not need access. However, when booking on behalf of a visitor, the person creating the booking can only select spaces that they themselves have access.
    Allow personal spaces to be booked for external users Allow personal space bookings for users outside the organization.  
    Prevent users from editing their default location Restrict users from modifying the default location set in their profiles.  

    Default privacy setting for new users

    Share with colleagues: New users are automatically set to show workplace presence and location information to colleagues.

    Hide from colleagues: New users are automatically set to hide workplace presence and location information from colleagues.

    • New users are created manually or through self-registration.
    • Users can change their privacy settings in their User Profile.
    ✨Enable 'Intelligent Booking'

    Automatically assign a personal space using learned intelligence and booking logic when:

    • a user's status changes to 'in the workplace'
    • booking a space using 'Quick book'
    • creating a team day. 

    When Intelligent Booking is first enabled, it can take up to 24 hours for the initial synchronization to complete. Intelligent booking will be available for users after the initial synchronization is complete.

    When Intelligent Booking is enabled globally, users can choose to enable/disable it individually from their user profile.

    An intelligent booking is made when a user's status changes to be in the workplace via the following scenarios:

    • Status is changed on the Today page (web or mobile app), via Your team, or on the in-office schedule in the user profile. 
    • The user is set as the host of a meeting space booking (unless they have manually set their status to working remotely or not working on that day).
    • User enters the building via an Access Control System (ACS) integrated with Eptura Visitor.

    When using Quick book to find and book personal spaces, intelligent booking can be disabled for non-workspace types such as parking spaces. Contact support for more information.

    When creating a team day, workspaces to reserve are intelligently selected.

    Learn more: Intelligent booking for personal spaces

  4. Click Save after making any changes.

Email reminders for booked personal spaces


The email notification that reminds users about a booked personal space is disabled by default. Contact Eptura to enable this reminder globally for your organization. The reminder can be scheduled between 1 week and 24 hours before the booking start time. Only one reminder is sent for all bookings that occur consecutively on the same day.