User groups and rights
Level: Administrator
Contents
About user groups
Depending on an employee's role and responsibilities, their Eptura Visitor user account can be added to one or more user groups to provide the access they require. The rights assigned to each user group are individually configurable for each location in your organization and might differ from the default 'out-of-the-box' settings discussed in this article.
The user groups and their expected use are as follows:
- Default - The default group for all users. Provides the minimum set of user rights you want your users to have.
- Administrators - Unrestricted access to the entire Eptura Visitor configuration. Rights are not configurable.
- Reception - Reception staff can view and manage all visits, and view all deliveries.
- Security - Security staff can view and manage all visits, see watch list matches, and access the employee logbook.
- Assistants - Assistants can create visitors on behalf of other users.
- Agents - This is an additional user group that can be used and configured if required.
The user group names cannot be edited.
Coming soon!New Read-only user group - The Read-only group will provide members with access to view a location's Visitor logbook. Optionally, you can enable exporting the visitor list too. No other rights are configurable for the group. The Read-only group is expected H2 2026 |
Out-of-the-box settings for configurable user groups
The default 'out-of-the-box' settings for each group are shown in the table below. Note that the rights can be modified individually for each location in your organization, so your group permissions might differ from those below and also vary across different locations.
The Administrators group has unrestricted access to all settings, so it is not shown in the table.
Key
✅ Enabled by default (can be disabled)
➕ Optional (not enabled by default)
❌ Disabled (cannot be enabled)
|
|
Default | Reception | Security | Assistants | Agents | Read-only |
User rights |
||||||
| Define group permissions | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Add users to a group | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
User Management |
||||||
| Create users | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Invite users | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Edit and delete users | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Privacy |
||||||
| See list of users (read only) | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Can access the emergency list | ➕ | ✅ | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
|
Add visitor profiles to shared address book |
✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| View and edit visitor profiles from shared address book | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Visitors |
||||||
| Export list of visitors and see Analytics | ➕ | ✅ | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ |
|
Create single visitors |
✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Create recurring visits | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Create recurring visits with no end date | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Create groups of visitors | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
|
Create visitors [sic]* on behalf of other hosts *Refers to creating 'visits', not 'visitors' as suggested. |
➕ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Approve Visits | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Change status of visitors (Checked in, Checked Out, Expected) | ➕ | ✅ | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| See all visitors of the day | ➕ | ✅ | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ✅ |
| Delete visits in the Logbook | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| See watchlist matches in the Logbook | ➕ | ➕ | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Employee |
||||||
| Can access the employee logbook | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Can reset and delete employee bookings | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Can switch the presence of an employee | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Can export employee data | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
| Can switch if an employee is allowed on location or not | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Deliveries |
||||||
| View all deliveries | ➕ | ✅ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Watchlists |
||||||
| Can view and manage watchlists | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Settings |
||||||
| Access location settings (excludes billing and user management) | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ➕ | ❌ |
Configure user group rights
You can manage the rights granted to each user group to align with the functions and duties performed by the internal teams at a location. Users who require access to Eptura Visitor must belong to one or more of the provided user groups, and any changes to a group's rights will affect all users assigned to that group.
Four default user group types are provided, plus an additional group that can be used to cater to a specific group of users in your organization. All user groups (excluding Administrators) are configurable to suit your requirements. Learn more: About user groups
The rights assigned to each user group are individually configurable for each location in your organization. The Administrators group cannot be edited.
Follow the steps to configure user group rights for a location.
- Navigate to Settings > General Settings > User rights to view the user groups.

The number of users assigned to a group is shown on the right. Any changes to a user group's rights affect all users assigned to the group.
- Click Manage rights to configure the features a user group can access.
- Select the checkboxes to enable or disable access to functions.

Good to know
- Any changes to rights are automatically saved.
- Changes to user groups affect all users assigned to the group.
- Individual user rights cannot be set.
- All users are assigned to the Default user group and cannot be removed.
- Users can be added to multiple user groups to provide the access required for their role.
